Profile photo of a State Farm Agent named: Steve Dowdy

State Farm® Insurance Agent Steve Dowdy

Rating: 4.9 stars out of 5 (35 reviews)

Leave Us a Review

Our customers are the center of our universe and we’re grateful for them. If you’re willing to share your experience about your interaction with our agency, it’ll be a great help for other people looking to make smart and confident decisions about their insurance and financial services.


Take 60 seconds (or more if you want) to share your story by clicking on one of the review links below.

What our customers say about us...

Greg Frost

October 28, 2022

5  out of  5
"Steve was very helpful in deciding a few add ons for our house insurance"

Jade Escobar

August 31, 2022

1  out of  5
"Leslie Terry (assuming his receptionist or assistant) left a rude message and was awful to work with, condescending and probably racist. Made fun on my last name on the voicemail and purposely mispronounced it. After I mentioned I found her rude she hung up on me. Glad I cancelled when I did."

Mike Blacker

July 15, 2022

5  out of  5
"Steve is a great and thoughtful agent whom I've worked with for over 30 years!"

Magillsgiggles

May 20, 2022

5  out of  5
"I've enjoyed working with Steve Dowdy for over 20 years as my insurance agent. He's honest and does not push products. He touches base annually to make sure coverages are up to date based on life changes, etc. When I had an accident years ago, I had the coverage I needed and the service was outstanding."

Steven Kanjo

February 19, 2022

5  out of  5
"Mr. Dowdy is exceptional!!! Aside from being incredibly knowledgeable, courteous and transparent, he is accessible. We've purchased Car, Home, and Umbrella insurance through him. In the rare cases where we've needed to make quick changes to our policies or utilize Statefarm services, he is incredibly responsive and helpful. I would strongly recommend him to any friend or family member."

Joan J Pi

February 9, 2022

5  out of  5
"Steve has been on top of our need of insurance whether it is for moving, changing cars or fender benders. Very reliable and available to speak with when needed. Highly recommended."

Adele N.

February 4, 2022

5  out of  5
"I've been with State Farm and Steve Dowdy for many years. He is reliable, knowledgeable and helpful. Steve's been able to answer all of my questions and provide me with guidance. I've found his office personnel to be friendly and helpful as well."

Bailey Skinner

January 27, 2022

5  out of  5
"Steve is always quick to respond when I need help with any insurance issues!"

Christine Wisnieski

January 24, 2022

5  out of  5
"I've been working with Steve Dowdy for all my renters, homeowners, and vehicle policies since I moved to Richmond in 2000. I think Steve Dowdy is the best insurance agent I've ever worked with, and I never hesitate to refer others to Steve."

Lynda D. Green

August 24, 2021

5  out of  5
"I have been with State Farm every since I have been driving. Through the course of these years, I have only had two agents. When my first agent retired, this agent took over this office and the transition was so smooth, I was so grateful. I have had such positive experiences with this office and I would highly recommend this team because they are not only knowledgable about every concept of the insurance business but they show empathy whenever I have had a problem or just a question. My husband and I truly appreciate knowing they have our backs when needed."

K. James

July 15, 2021

5  out of  5
"State Farm also has excellent low cost Life Insurance plans. I purchased a life insurance plan for my young adult daughter. The process was super easy, fast and very inexpensive. The cost is so low that when my daughter has established herself, she’ll be able to take ownership of the plan. My agent Steve Dowdy, is very knowledgeable, professional, honest, and will go above and beyond to answer all of your questions and concerns. He’ll show you all of your options that will benefit you. He’s been my agent for decades."

Blane Markham

July 2, 2021

5  out of  5
"In all my dealings with the Steve Dowdy agency, Zac and all other staff, they have been kind, professional, & and I walked away knowing that they had my best interests at heart. Highly recommend to anyone to consider the Steve Dowdy State Farm office."

Debbie Ferrell

May 27, 2021

5  out of  5
"I have been with the same insurance company and agent for 20 + years any time I have needed them they gave been there for me and my family. You could not ask for anyone better then Steve Dowdy with State Farm insurance."

LaWanda Loving

May 26, 2021

5  out of  5
"Steve Dowdy has been my agent since I was on my father's policy and it was a smooth transition at 18 years old (about 1998 or so) to my own policy. I would highly recommend him. He has a personal relationship with all of his clients and truly looks out for your best interest. Now I have 2 of my children that utilize Steve as well. Everyone in his office is so pleasant. I would highly recommend his office for your insurance needs."

James Browne III

March 11, 2021

5  out of  5
"I was with my last insurance company for 27 years. Always had to go though long automated phone ques, and never got the same person or level of service, there was no personal connection. What a pleasant joy it has been to get a knowledgeable, personable, professional on the phone. Steve Dowdy was so helpful in putting together an insurance package for my car and dwelling, that not only provided me with increased insurance coverage where it was needed, but his State Farm quotes were considerably lower in cost. I feel so much better that I now have a person who really made me feel important and he has assured me that he is there to assist me in every aspect of insurance needs, and that if I ever needed to file a claim, he will be there with me to assist and direct me in the appropriate ways. I'm so pleased with being a valued customer of Steve's agency and part of the State Farm insurance family."

Bob Bradford

February 3, 2021

5  out of  5
"Steve has been my family's insurance agent for almost 30 years. If I ever need anything, from a claim or someone just to review my coverage, Steve and his staff are there for me. I have referred friends and family members to his office, and they also ended up being long time customers."

Tanesha Matthews

November 24, 2020

5  out of  5
"Steve Dowdy 's office has been my agent when I reside in the Virginia area. Always answered my questions efficiently and got everything I needed done. I highly recommend him. Thank you Steve for everything you've done for me thus far😄"

Dandi Nevill

November 18, 2020

5  out of  5
"Steve Dowdy State Farm has exceeded my expectations. They are very quick to respond and always helpful with my questions. I look to them for guidance when planning for the future and they are understanding and knowledgeable in the advice they give regarding their products. I trust them with my auto and home needs and look forward to continuing to work with them."

Tammy Burns

November 16, 2020

5  out of  5
"I have worked with Steve Dowdy at State Farm for over 35 years. Steve is always responsive and truly cares about the quality and value of the services provided to those he works with. Highly recommend!!"

David G

July 10, 2020

5  out of  5
"Extremely satisfied with the customer service I receive from Steve Dowdy and his team at State Farm. They have been very helpful with ensuring I am not overpaying for my policies and are committed to their clients. Highly recommend!"

Nathan Ray

July 9, 2020

5  out of  5
"Really happy with our insurance coverage through Steve Dowdy’s office. Super helpful anytime we had questions, and they were great to work with. Zack at the office was really a big help sorting out our coverage even as we had to switch agents as we moved out of state. Highly recommend!"

alice young

September 8, 2019

5  out of  5
"They always think of you. I hear from them every year. I get a Birthday and holiday card from them every year. I been with them over 20 years"

Squab Hollow

May 8, 2019

5  out of  5
"If I could give Steve Dowdy 6 stars, I would! He helped patiently for more than an hour on the telephone to work through the complications of my claim. Really amazing service! S. Schreiber"

Steven Wenograd

August 10, 2018

5  out of  5
"Embodies the old “like a good neighbor” pitch of State Farm, which is surprisingly hard to find. Knows his stuff. Gives great counsel on all things insurance. Going to meet with him for policy reviews is like meeting up with an old friend, but discussing our insurance"